Lament

(Dedicated to victims of the Nepal Earthquake on April 25, 2015)

I heard their cries among the noises of buildings falling from their bases, roofs and shafts tumbling onto its dwellers, women and children shrieking for help as the walls gave away and buried their cries under its weight.

I heard their cries even as the rain dragged on, even as men shouted amidst the chaos, pulling out the dead from beneath the rubble and, carrying the injured and the ones who are minutes on their way to death.

I heard their cries as the cities and villages trembled to the force of the earth, as the ancient mountains swayed, being disturbed from their aeonian slumber and awakened to the call of Mother Nature.

I heard their cries as children huddled in the corner of streets, women wept to the loss of their kin, men hung their heads in sorrow to the death of their families and a boy watches his mother die in his arms.

I heard their cries even as relief efforts are sent, even as the doctors treated the injured, with beads of sweat trickling on their foreheads, their eyes heavy with tiredness and grief, knowing their job would never be over.

I heard their cries as soldiers risked their lives and civilians braved their way towards the ruins, courageous hearts saving and fighting, realizing that it’s a test of their fear – that the warriors always stand last.

I heard their cries but I couldn’t do anything. I could do nothing but watch in silence and think of how life could be so fragile and unpredictable. Within seconds, all you have could be swept away from you and that you could die not knowing where you would go afterwards.

I could do nothing but think of how this world we are living is no heaven or paradise. We are all vulnerable and this could happen to you or to me.

I could do nothing but wish that these people found comfort in their times of trouble, that the world is with them and that there is a chance to rise up again.

I could do nothing because all my savings and all my wealth would not be enough to recompense the depth of their loss. Because no money can fix a broken heart.

I only wish that somehow you could learn to gaze at the stars, see how they shine despite the darkness around them and know that those stars are shining only for you, bringing you peace in the darkest of your nights.

3 thoughts on “Lament

  1. Such a tragedy. I have prayed for these people and shed tears. There is so much tragedy and sorrow in this world. So nice of you to do this post and bring this to the attention of your fellow bloggers.

    • Stargaze says:

      Thank you so much for your appreciation. I can understand. It broke my heart again to hear about another earthquake that rocked Nepal a few days ago. It is up to us to keep praying so that the people of Nepal find the strength to go on at this darkest moment of their lives. Cheers!

      • I find myself praying for the people each time I hear even the smallest tragedy. I wish no one had to suffer like those poor people in Nepal. Cheers to you for your post on Nepal.

Leave a comment