Turning A New Chapter In Life (pt.1)

0a37a0d17623bc04ddccf3910b494f5f

I can’t believe I finally made it and I’m here, typing out my first post for 2015. Life has been a busy road for the past one year. And these past nine days since the first rays of dawn in 2015 shone bright through my curtain as it spills softly on my white bedroom wall, I just realized how much has transpired up to now. Sometimes, it is easy to forget about the little things that happen in our lives, of small gifts we do not consider too great. But it is these small gifts that become a bigger part of our lives.

For one thing, I believe one of these gifts is my family. For those who have lost a loved one or even their family at some point in their lives, I feel for you my deepest sympathy. So far, I feel lucky not to have experienced such a situation yet but I know in the future that the worse is yet to come because it’s life. Without my family, I can’t imagine where I would’ve stood. Where I would’ve been, How I would’ve lived. Without family, a society cannot be established. Likewise, without family, an individual cannot thrive. These are the people who shape our lives, who mold and create who we are as we grow in this ever-revolving cycle called life. A family is the backbone of one’s identity.

On the other hand, I might sound like I’m referring only to blood-related families but I am also referring to non blood relations as well. Family, in other words, is who make us feel at home and those who make us feel loved, caring for us and giving us shelter. As I grow, mature and discover myself each day, I anticipate with a bit of nostalgia and dread that there would be a day I’d have to leave my family behind and move away to establish a family of my own or even lose someone dear and cherished to my heart. That is how we grow and live in this world.

But who says you have to follow what everyone else does? I, for one, can answer that. And my answer is no. Life is too short, sweet and bitter at the same time. There’s too much to lose before it’s all gone. I aspire to enjoy and live while I can, achieve my dreams and experience the life I want to live. Life is too short and I don’t want to hear Shakespeare’s ‘Seven Ages of Man’ ringing tremulously in my head as I live year after year knowing that my end is nearing closer.

Leave a Reply

